Heroism in the Face of Tragedy

Each morning, I join my coworker on the way to work.

“Did you hear about…?” usually starts our conversation. I have been trying to escape the college bubble (you know, that one into which free T-shirts at the caf is the biggest news of the day?) since I graduated two years ago but still, I always seem to be the last one to find out what is going on in the world. Luckily, I have her to fill me in.

After current events, our conversation usually drifts to one thing or another, such as family, sports or exciting weekend plans, and almost always ends on the subject of food.

But lately things have taken a different tone.

Since the tragic bombings in Boston this week, our conversations have been full of shock, disbelief and sadness. Each day when I am finally able to take solace in knowing that the worse is over, the aftershocks of bad news interrupt the process–more injured, more dead. More chaos. More fear.

As if it is ever possible to recover from large national (and international) tragedies such as we have been experiencing, something keeps us moving forward. As I admire the resilience of those communities touched by these sad events, I am growing weary of tragedy and I don’t think that I’m the only one. Eventually, we find ourselves at a crossroads.

Tune out or help out?

Although I am an advocate for positive news, will be the first to say that we can’t turn a blind eye to negative events.  Knowing and understanding the complexities of these sad issues that affect our communities is integral to unifying us as humans. They allow us the capacity for sympathy. In the midst of all that, we must find a way help out–to support those affected, to keep moving forward and to hang on hope that one day we will be stronger for it. We must be part of the solution.

My motivation to do this lies in my search to find the good in the bad. I found something. His name is Carlos Arredondo. Have a look at his heroic acts and his amazing story:

Know that whatever tragedies that occur in our own lives, in the current events, in the history of the world, we can rise above them.

Leave a Reply

